Home > Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary, Updates > Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary – Wasted effort?

Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary – Wasted effort?

 

Will this game live up to the hype, or be forgotten in five years?

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m probably one of the nerdier, throwback Halo fans who remembered when it came out in late 2001. I remember playing it the first time, so impressed by every aspect of the game. Graphically, I hadn’t seen anything like it. The new Xbox system was pushing limits I thought were incredible at the time. And they were, by any kind of standards in 2001. The multiplayer aspect blew my mind, and it quickly lead to LAN-parties around the neighborhood. Out of the games that holds childhood nostalgia, this game is second to Ocarina of Time. However, with a revamp of the game, there are many things that are going to change.

Also, the Reach engine was interesting, but not quite for me. The multiplayer aspect started getting really old when everyone was rolling around, jetpacking around, or just saying FUCK YOU and using the armor lock technique. It seems that there are aspects of this multiplayer I would never want to cross over into my happy, nostalgic childhood memories. If they just redid the graphical components (like the Splinter Cell Trilogy HD collection, or something) and made it have the same multiplayer maps, I would be a happy camper. However, I am not, because this will just be another add-on to Reach multiplayer maps, and I’ve already expressed my opinions about said Halo: Reach multiplayer.

And they are trying to incorporate Kinect into this as well? It’s a first-person shooter. WITH YOUR BODY? No thanks, bro.

Games spend too much time trying to put hundreds of toppings on a pizza that was once successful. The key in new gaming innovation is to create something simple but new and unique to a franchise. Every time I think of a title that has launched into a full-blown series, the creativity has either completely disappeared, or the developers have had to somewhat change the formula. I want this to be a change to the formula, not slapping the Reach engine onto “new campaign maps and multiplayer maps”. For the love of Master Chief. Or Mister Chief, for that matter.

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

